Florida Real Estate License Requirements 

 

Sales Associate

  •  Be at least 18 years old 

  • Have high school diploma or GED 

  • Successfully complete a FREC-approved pre-licensing course for sales associates consisting of 63 classroom-hours and covering the topics required by the FREC. The course is valid for licensure purposes for two years after the course completion date. 

  • Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and appropriate fee. 

  • Pass the Florida real estate exam with a grade of 75 percent. 

    • Exceptions to the above: 

      • Attorneys with a current Florida Bar Card are exempt 

      • A 4 year Degree in Real Estate will exempt you from the 63-hour course requirement Florida Real Estate Broker License Requirements 

 

Broker

  • Requirements are to hold an active Florida real estate sales associate license and complete 24 months real estate experience during the 5 year period preceding becoming licensed as a broker.

  • Or, a licensed real estate sales associate or broker who has real estate experience in another state may apply the experience toward a Florida real estate broker license if the applicant has held an active sales associate or a current and valid broker license for at least 25 months during the preceding 5 years. The real estate license must have been obtained from the real estate licensing authority by completing its education and examination requirements. NOTE: If the applicant holds a Florida real estate sales associate license (s)he must fulfill the Florida sales associate post-licensing education requirement before being eligible to obtain a broker license. 

  • Successfully complete a FREC approved pre-licensing course for brokers consisting of 72 classroom hours and covering the topics required by the FREC. The course is valid for licensure purposes for two years after the course completion date. 

  • Submit a completed application, electronic fingerprints, and appropriate fee. 

  • Complete all applicable Florida Real Estate Sales Associate Post License Course requirements IF licensed after January 1, 1989 

  • Pass the Florida Real Estate Broker Exam with a grade of 75 percent 

    • Exceptions to the above: 

      • A 4 year Degree in Real Estate will exempt you from the 72-hour course requirement Post license and continuing education requirements
         

Post Licensing requirements

  • Sales associates are required to successfully complete a FREC-approved post-licensing course for sales associate consisting of at least 45 classroom-hours, prior to the expiration of the initial sales associate license. 

  • Brokers are required to successfully complete a FREC-approved post-licensing course for brokers consisting of at least 60 classroom hours prior to the expiration of the initial broker license. 

  • Both sales associates and brokers need to complete a 14-hr continuing education every two years

    

Important Contact Information:

Department of Business and Professional Regulation

 

 

Climer School of Real Estate

Florida Permit # ZH43756

©2019

5104 N. Orange Blossom Trail

The Rosemont Building 

Suite 103

Orlando, FL 32810

 

ClimerRESchool@gmail.com
 
407-822-EXAM (3926)
Pixel ID: 298012413911682

Join us on:

 

  • Google Places Social Icon
  • Wix Facebook page
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn App Icon
  • Yelp! App Icon
  • Google Classic
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon