The Path to Obtain your
Florida Real Estate License
1. Apply with the State of Florida
The application process is the same for Sales Associate or Broker. Normally it takes 1-2 weeks for the state to review and approve your application however, it could be longer. To apply, either go online at www.myfloridalicense.com or call 850-487-1395. Your application may be submitted electronically or mailed. If mailed, we recommend that you send it certified and keep a copy for yourself. Currently, the application fee is $83.75 for Sales Associate and $91.75 for Brokers. You must have a social security number and either a high school degree or a GED.
Florida law also requires that all Real Estate Sales Associate and Broker applicants have their fingerprints taken and submitted electronically. On the DBPR (Department of Business and Professional Regulation) website, there is a list of approved Livescan Fingerprint Vendors. Outside fees range from $85 to $100. Fingerprints are taken at The Climer School of Real Estate during the first Tuesday of every class for a nominal fee of $70.
2. Sign up for the Sales Associate 63 HR class
The Climer School of Real Estate offers the required 63 HR Sales Associate class in the classroom,online or live streaming classes. The classroom schedules are varied and different lengths. At the end of class you will be required to take the class test which is 100 questions and multiple choice, within 30 days per state law.
The online option, is self paced, it is reading materials and answering questions. You will have one year to complete the course. The Online Class test at the end is also a timed 100 question multiple choice exam. You will have 3 hours straight to take the test. See our Online Classes Tab for this option.
The live streaming is a combination of the first two options. You have a live instructor, it is a set time but you can take it from the comfort of your home or your favorite beach, if there is a good internet connections.
You must pass with a grade of 70 or better. If you do not pass, Florida Law requires that you must wait 30 days to take Test B.
3. Take the State Exam
When you have your passed the Class Exam and received yoiur Completion Certificate from the Climer School of Real Estate AND you have received your approval from the State of Florida, only then may you schedule your state exam at a Pearson Vue testing facility. Currently, the fee is $36.75 to take the exam.
PLEASE BE SURE TO TAKE YOUR COMPLETION CERTIFICATE FROM THE SCHOOL WITH YOU OR YOU WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO TAKE THE TEST.
You must pass the State Exam with a score of 75 or higher. If you do not pass the first time, you may reschedule to take the test at your earliest convenience.